Dose of Awesome #231

1. Awesome was the cumulative 10 hours of snowshoeing that I had been able to enjoy this past week. Prior to strapping on a pair of snowshoes last Saturday afternoon (a pair that were given to me as a gift several years ago), I’d never tried it before, and Saturday’s 3-hour excursion had me hooked. I went out again the next day the weather allowed for another 4 hours. And today, another 3.

Why I hadn’t dusted them off and taken them out sooner, I have no idea. They’re perfect for right now, when the weather’s mild enough to actually enjoy outdoor activity, but the snow’s just soft enough to make hiking on the land miserable. I hope to make it out a few more times before the land turns to soup.

Kuujjuaq 99
Kuujjuaq 103
Kuujjuaq 97
Kuujjuaq 101
Kuujjuaq 104
2. Awesome was the opportunity to start running outside again, while at the same time getting involved in the community. I have been helping to train a group of secondary students for Le Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie – specifically for the relay run that will take place during the May 24 weekend. Three times per week, for 6 weeks, we train, and on May 23rd, we will fly to Montréal, take the bus to Québec City, and run the 275-ish kilometres back to Montréal relay style.

3. Awesome was a successful re-start on the Weight Watcher’s program. Slowly, but surely, I’m getting back to my goal (which is now only about 12 pounds away), and hope to be there by summer solstice (plenty of time!). In the meantime, I’m enjoying the creativity and the structure, and, as a result, tonnes of delicious meals.

Leave a comment