Dose of Awesome # 256

1. Awesome is my backpack.

Eight and a half years ago, tired of my unfulfilling call centre job, fed up with my chauvanistic boss and a cycle of crazy roommates, and in desperate need of a change of scenery, I opened my mind to the possibility of an adventure in the Yukon. I don’t know how much time had passed between the night I began to entertain the idea, and the day I actually booked my ticket to Whitehorse, but I do remember the day I bought my backpack.

Walking home along the Halifax waterfront one day after an especially defeating day a work, I took a detour to the Mountain Equipment Co-Op. I just wanted to browse, and I was there for quite awhile. But the longer I stayed there, the stronger my desire for an adventure grew. So did my realization that an adventure was what I needed. Before leaving the store, I bought myself the pack that’s still with me today.

My pack has been with me through 3 summers in the Yukon. It came with me to Alaska. It’s been to China, Peru, France, Italy, Switzerland, Austria, and many places in between. It’s been my portable “home” by day, and pillow by night. It’s challenged me (it can get pretty heavy), and it’s given me hope.

As I await boarding my flight for Iceland, I look forward to another few weeks of awesomeness. My pack is coming with me.

image

2. Awesome was a productive and fun few days in Montréal, where I ate good food, drank good wine and even better coffee, and spent time with friends. I even went to my first Shakespeare play in a park.

3. Awesome are new books – especially the real, old fashioned kind. This morning I finished the book I brought with me from home (Tilly – A Story of Hope and Resilience by Monique Gray Smith), so I came to the airport early today to book ahop and relax. I am now reading Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese. Just twenty pages in, I can tell this is going to be a powerful read.

Leave a Reply

