Dose of Awesome # 251

1. Awesome is the right perspective.

Sometimes – when my workout doesn’t go as well as I’d like, or I eat something I feel guilty about later – I get discouraged with myself.

I forget that there was once a time that I weighed almost 250 pounds. I never worked out. I walked to and sometimes from work, and that was it. In fact, once, 8 or 9 years ago, I walked an hour up a mountain and cried because I was uncomfortably winded. It took me about 3 hours to get to the top. That was the only time I hiked it that summer. The next summer, I hiked the same mountain week after week, until I could do it in less than an hour. Now, I can hike for 10 days up and down mountains five times higher, and still crave more.

2. Awesome are celebrations with friends – this time in the form of baby showers.

3. Awesome are signs of spring – be it through the birds chirping, the snow melting, or the fact that, even though the temperature is still hovering around the -20s, you can definitely feel the heat of the sun. In fact, Even though I was wearing my parka,  I still managed to get a bit of a sunburn on Friday, during our annual school spring picnic at Stewart Lake.

Leave a comment