Dose of Awesome #235

I consider myself a morning person – a person who wakes up with a list of things to do every morning. Not things that I necessarily need to get done, but things that I want to get done.

As a morning person, I’ve read many a book (many of which I probably wouldn’t have read otherwise), learned the vast majority of the French that I know, ran countless kilometers, and made art. As a morning person, I’ve found a balance between work and pleasure.

I feel like I’m losing my morning person-ness. On top of that, I’ve been grumpy as hell. Perhaps it’s winter. Perhaps it’s pre-Christmas teacher exhaustion. Perhaps it’s one, or a million other things. But, the past few weeks I’ve woken up severely lacking in the enthusiasm that usually drives me in the wee hours of the day. Determined to re-enthuse my inner morning person, and brighten up my disposition, I thought it was a good time to re-establish the habit of writing about the things that are awesome, first thing in the morning. I hope to make this a habit again.

1. Awesome is my backyard. It’s winter again, and time to take out my snowshoes. I’ve gone once already, and plan to go again tomorrow. I’m thankful for Kuujjuaq’s beautiful and endless tundra.

Kuujjuaq 161

Kuujjuaq 163

Kuujjuaq 170

2. Awesome are free, or near-free books. I’ve been on a reading frenzy as of late, and n the past week I’ve acquired 6 new-to-me books, for less than $1.50.

Some titles I’d recommend are:

-Hearing Birds Fly by Louisa Waugh
-Beyond the Sky and the Earth by Jamie Zeppa
-A Woman in the Polar Night by Christiane Ritter
-A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout -Kiss of the Fur Queen by Tomson Highway and,
-A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews

3. Awesome is yoga. I did yoga regularly when I lived in Tasiujaq, but, upon moving to Kuujjuaq, grew more inclined to sweat my way through an hour on the cardio machines at the forum. After 3 years of no other option than a home workout, I was glad to live in a town with a public gym again – thus growing out of the habit of doing yoga.

However, after my trek in the Dolomites, I had a hard time going back to the gym and actually enjoying it. An hour trudging away on a machine and going nowhere used to feel good. Now it’s just boring. Excruciatingly boring. Exercise shouldn’t be that much of a mind-game.

So, I took a little hiatus from the gym to work out at home. In the meantime, I rediscovered my love of yoga. Ashtanga yoga. Power yoga. It’s still a great workout, but so much more than that.

Leave a Reply

