Dose of Awesome # 229

A month and a half. A new record.

I’ve been missing my blog. I’ve been missing the pleasure of writing over a cup of coffee while soaking under the rays of my happy lamp. Note to self: try harder to take the time to do this.

1. Awesome was turning my longing for my own fun little hobby into a great little project for my students.

The other day, I spotted a children’s story about the 100th day of school on a library shelf. I took it to read to my students sometime during the week, feeling both surprised and bad that I’d entirely forgotten to keep track of the days of school with them (a 100th day of school celebration is something I’d done every year since I started teaching).

After reading the story to them, we decided to count the days of school that we’ve had so far, and continue counting from there. And like the characters in the story, we decided to start a collection of 100 things – 100 AWESOME things.

We started this project during yesterday’s Personal Social Development (PSD) class – a class I am using currently to teach them about the power of positive thinking. I told my students about my own personal mission awesome, and then asked them to each write 1 or 2 sentences about things that are awesome in their own lives (some wrote 4 to 6!). Then, I typed them up, printed them off and mounted them on coloured paper on our classroom door.

We’re not yet halfway near 100, but we have a great start! I will post a photo when it’s done.

2. Awesome was receiving my new parka yesterday after school – my parka which Canada Post told me was still in Montréal, and not due to arrive in Kuujjuaq until February 6th! To top things off, it’s perfect!

Parka

3. Awesome was baking bannock with my students Monday afternoon.

4. Awesome were a number of evenings with friends since I’ve returned from Christmas vacation – from poker and board games nights, to girl’s nights, to dinner parties and nights out at the lounge, it’s been kind of nonstop, just like it was when I first arrived in Kuujjuaq.

5. Awesome is how much fun my boyfriend and I have when we cook together :). And now I know how to make crêpes!

6. Awesome was an amazing New Year’s vacation in Toronto together – during which we:
-Spent an entire morning at the Royal Ontario Museum
-Spent another at the Art Gallery of Ontarion
-And another at the Hockey Hall of Fame
-Shopped in the Kensington Market
-And the St. Lawrence Market
-And Chinatown
-Went on a tour of the Steam Whistle Brewery (and got free beer!)
-Ate authentic Chinese food
-And Greek
-And all-you-can-eat Japanese
-Saw a production of Evil Dead: The Musical
-Went to Allen Gardens
-Partied with my friend Alex and her friends on New Year’s Eve
-Saw my bro Anthony
-Stayed in a beautiful hotel in the centre of the city (with a free upgrade to the suite with a fireplace!)

Kuujjuaq 79
Us at Hurley’s Irish Pub in Montréal the night before taking the train to Toronto for vacation (one of the few photos I took the entire trip. Haha).

7. Awesome was the fact that, despite the facts that neither of us have ever really traveled with anybody in a long time, and it was our first time traveling together, this was one of the most stress-free trips I’ve ever taken. I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect vacation with somebody.

Leave a Reply

