Daily Dose of Awesome – Day 226

My posts are dwindling. Days seem to be shrinking, yet they seem to be getting busier. After one of my more challenging weeks, what better way to start a well-deserved weekend than to force myself to just sit down with a cup of coffee (the first I can actually savour in weeks), and process the awesome of the past little while.

1. Awesome and fun, but a bit scary was the opportunity to learn how to shoot a rifle at the sand pit last weekend. I can now check that off my list of new things I’d like to try here. Other such items include para-skiing, flying in a helicopter, and learning how to sew a parka and kamik.

Kuujjuaq 60

2. Awesome was a slew of positive messages I received this week after some really difficult days of teaching. Also awesome was the degree of help and support I’ve been offered and given. I can honestly say it’s what got me through the week. Nakurmiik.

3. Awesome was an afternoon of making suvalik for my students yesterday afternoon – a treat they’d earned over the past few months with their teamwork and cooperation. It didn’t turn out quite right – it lacked the creamy consistency that well-made suvalik has – but it did taste like it and the kids liked it. Next time, their treat will be bannock and tea.

Leave a Reply

