Daily Dose of Awesome – Day 219

It’s the first of September. Yesterday marked three weeks since I’d arrived in Kuujjuaq. You know how it goes – I feel like I just got here, yet I feel like I’ve been here forever. I feel like I belong here.

It’s also the long weekend. Most teachers and students across Canada start work only on Tuesday. Me – I’ve been working already for two weeks. For most, tomorrow is the day before starting work, and while I’m sure some are excited about starting the new school year, I’m also sure many are dreading the end of summer vacation. For me, that extra day of weekend is just that – it’s a treat and a bit of a break.

1. Awesome are long weekends, and the timing of this one.

2. Awesome was a night out with friends at the lounge on Friday night.

3. Wonderfully awesome was a bit of a camping adventure just a few kilometres out of town, complete with delicious vegetables and pork skewers cooked over the fire, handfuls of blueberries to be picked, an intense game of Crazy Eights (which I won), and a massive and calm lake. Tomorrow, I plan to go back there for a hike.

Kuujjuaq 35
My car, in the wild. I parked it on the edge of an ATV trail, just off the main road. Then we hiked the short hike to our camping spot. 

Kuujjuaq 32
One bundled up happy camper. 

Kuujjuaq 33
My tent near the lake.

Kuujjuaq 34
Sunset 🙂

Leave a comment