100 Days of Awesome – Day 22

1. Awesome was my acceptance yesterday.

The village sewage truck broke down again on Monday. My “Danger – Tank Almost Full” light has been on since Monday evening. Once the tank is full, my water stops running.

Yesterday, as a blizzard brewed in the skies and all hopes of having the truck fixed for the weekend diminished, frustration grew around me. I’d heard several times from some about how fed up they are – fed up with being unable to do their laundry, have a real shower or flush their toilet; fed up with washing their dishes in buckets and dumping their dirty dishwater outside; fed up with wondering when the last drop of water will drip from their faucet or, if it already had, fed up with having to find water elsewhere.

Yes, it’s an inconvenient situation, to say the least. There comes a point where it’s no longer an adventure; there comes a point where you no longer see it as a funny story to tell your friends in the south. That point had passed days ago. But, it could be much worse, and seeing as this situation is beyond my control, I can do nothing but accept it.

Yesterday, as frustration grew around me, I both noticed and appreciated my “there ya have it” attitude toward the situation. It made for a much more equanimous me.

Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like”
-Lao Tzu

2. Awesome was being safe and warm at home in a full-on whiteout (complete with 100 km/hour winds and freezing temperatures).

3. Awesome was the extra few hours in the afternoon to accomplish some things that I wouldn’t have accomplished so quickly otherwise (school closed in the morning due to the blizzard) – I prepared a few lessons for next week, sent a few necessary emails, and did some housework. I spent the rest of the afternoon reading and relaxing. Hurray for snow days!

Leave a Reply

