100 Days of Awesome – Day 16

1. Awesome was the delicious experiment I conjured up in my slow cooker – Cajun arctic char soup. In a base of 3 cups of water, 1/2 of a cube of vegetable stock, 1 tablespoon of Cajun spice, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 small can of tomato paste and 1 large can of diced tomatoes, I slow-cooked chopped carrots, leeks, onions and arctic char for 6 hours on high. It was my first time using Cajun spice.

Cajun Char Soup

2. Awesome was getting free bananas at the Co Op (when they’re too brown to be sold, they’re often given away to people, like myself, who like to to freeze them or bake banana bread).

3. Awesome was getting out of the house yesterday, despite fervent winds and the -40 degree temperature, for the cumulative 10-minute walk to and from the Co Op.

It wasn’t easy – walking against yesterday’s wind was like playing a standing version of Umimaq with nature’s icy breath (Umimaq is an Inuit game where opponents get on all fours, like muskoxen, and try and push each other across a line drawn on the floor). I’d spent nearly the entire walk either with my face buried under my two scarves and the fur of my parka hood drawn as tightly as possible, or walking backwards to escape the wind that literally took my breath away. It was also short, but it was long enough to savour more sunlight than I’d had the opportunity to savour in almost a week.

4. Awesome was yoga, as always.

Leave a Reply

