100 Days of Awesome – Day 6

1. Awesome was yet another change of pace when I tacked on another 5 minutes of my improvised Insanity workout. I completed the Shawn T’s 6 exercise circuit (jogging, jumping jacks, heisman, 1,2,3’s, butt kicks, high knees and mummy kicks) six times, each time a bit faster, as well as a circut if various shadow boxing repetitions. I proceeded that with Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown Level 2. In this yoga session, I pushed through 10 repetitions within each pose, then held each pose for 15 seconds. My ever muscle burned and I dripped with sweat, especially having just finished my bodyweight training shortly before. It felt amazing.

2. Awesome was sending a birthday surprise in the wee hours of the morning. It was a minor surprise, but any surprise that brings a smile to someone’s face is a surprise worth sending.

3. Awesome was realizing, yesterday, that today is already Thursday. Especially considering the fact that on Tuesday, I thought glumly “tomorrow’s only Wednesday.

4. Awesome was my hot water bottle last night when I realized that perhaps 2 consecutive nights of Insanity workouts (albeit partial) was possibly a bit much to start. Not only have I grown accustomed to slightly less physically demanding forms of exercise, I’m also still adjusting to my new training shoes – a pair of “barefoot running” trail running shoes – after several months of workout out in thicker, more boxy road running shoes. I felt even the most minuscule of muscles.

Leave a Reply

