100 Days of Awesome – Day 2

1. Awesome was finally having the opportunity to rest. After a hectic holiday in the Maritimes, I spent an exhausting 15 hours last Monday either flying or waiting in airports – leaving my mother’s house in Moncton, New Brunswick at 4:00 AM and arriving at my house in Tasiujaq just after 7:00 PM. The next morning, I started teaching. Yesterday was the first chance that I really had since returning to unpack my suitcase, and put my feet up and relax.

2. Awesome was the batch of improvised lentil curry stew that I whipped up in my slow cooker. Consisting of butternut squash, onion, carrots, kale and lentils in a base made of water, vegetable stock, tomato paste, pepper, curry powder and ginger, this stew was surprisingly tasty – especially topped with a bit of honey.

3. Awesome was the few minutes yesterday that I was able to talk to my boyfriend on the telephone, which, with heavy course loads and busy jobs, is always a blessing.

Leave a Reply

