Awesome # 357: Doing Something Exhilarating

Without a doubt, the most exhilarating thing I’d done in 2012 was the Tour du Mont Blanc. A 10-day loop, from Chamonix to Chamonix (in France), the Tour du Mont Blanc was a cumulative 10, 000 metres up, 10, 000 metres down, and 130 kilometres through the French, Italian and Swiss Val Ferrets of the Alps. It was exhilarating every step of the way – be it on account of its narrow, near-vertical slopes or larger-than-life peaks.

DSCN5424
DSCN5544
DSCN5434
DSCN5529
DSCN5423

But while the Tour du Mont Blanc was by far the most exhilarating thing I’d done in 2012 by sheer ratio, I’d done other things throughout the year that fall into this category.

I picnicked beside a large glacier high up in the mountains surrounding the Chamonix valley;

Les Bossons

I got slightly disoriented on the Arctic tundra last winter (something I’ll never do again);

Hike 2

I chased a herd of muskoxen that same land this past fall;

LabourDayHike 8
I watched the colours change on many a hike on still the same land;

Autumn 10

And, I spent an entire morning tree-climbing, tight-rope walking, swinging and ziplining 50 to 75 feet above the ground at Moncton’s arboreal adventure that is Tree Go.

Tree Go

It’s definitely been a year of exhilarating awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

