Awesome # 350: Ice

Awesome today, for its incredible healing power, is ice.

Ice produces chemical mediators that reduce the source of inflammation and pain that come with an injury. It also increases circulation, bringing fresh blood and oxygen to an injury and thus speeding up recovery.

Yesterday I woke up with an unpleasant ache in the lower right side of my back. I stretched carefully, thinking that maybe I’d just slept funny, to no avail. As the day progressed, the pain worsened to a burning pain I just couldn’t ignore, so I went to the nursing station to have it checked out. It turned out to be sciatica (possibly brought on by a miscalculated transition during yoga the previous night). As per doctor’s orders, I went home, curled up in bed and iced my pain away.

Lo and behold, the pain is practically gone today.

icecube2

Leave a Reply

