Awesome # 348: Catharsis

The other evening, I was listening to a song that evoked the most intense outburst of music-induced goosebumps I’d experienced in a very long time.

After about the fourth listen, out of nowhere, I cried. I didn’t cry because I was sad, but rather out of a combination of being profoundly moved by the song and out of some fundamental, subconscious need to release a mix of emotions I’d pent up in the midst of excessive professional busy-ness, and the elation and excitement of the holiday season and my upcoming reunion with someone special.

It was only for 5 minutes, but it was 5 minutes of absolutely cleansing, and awesomely revitalizing catharsis I’ve experienced in a long time.

Leave a Reply

