Awesome # 339: ‘Happy To See You’ Waves

When I run, I wave at people driving by. It’s a habit that I’ve carried with me to every village, town or city in which I’ve ever run. Usually I give that quick wave equivalent to a quick ‘hello’ to a stranger on the street, and usually, that’s what I get back.

Even though I’ve lived in this fly-in village of only 250 people for 2 years now, I often forget the fact that I pretty much know everybody – if not personally, then at least in passing. It still catches me by surprise sometimes when my waves are met with a ‘happy to see you’ wave – the emphatic wave that a friend gives a friend that, even if you can’t see the person’s face, exude friendly smiles.

‘Happy to see you’ waves are awesome.

Leave a Reply

