Awesome # 327: Acceptance

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like”
-Lao Tzu

If I were asked to choose one thing that differentiates me today from me one year ago, it would be my acceptance – my acceptance of the things that I can change and the things that I cannot, my acceptance of my own limitations and those of other people, my acceptance of my misfortunes and disappointments, as well as the challenges that come my way. With that said, I’ve also not only learned the difference between expectations and desires, I’ve become more adept at letting go of the former while being more in tune with the latter.

This is not to say that I’ve surrendered, especially to the more adverse side of reality. Rather, I’ve put myself in the only position from which I can transcend it – because to deny it will only enable it further, like a disease ignored, and to fight against it will only augment tension and cause me to sink, as one sinks into quicksand.

Only by accepting it can I understand it enough to see what needs to change in order to alleviate tension between myself and what is. Only by accepting it can I understand it enough to truly induce change where it’s my place to do so. Only by accepting it can I truly be happy – if this isn’t the key to happiness, I don’t know what is.

This is awesome.

Leave a Reply

