Awesome # 326: Having All Of The Ingredients

I have a tendency to, when I crave something, do a cursory search on Google for a recipe, choose one of the first that appeals to me, and dive into a mission to make the recipe real. More often than not, I find myself 3 or 4 steps in to find that I’m missing one of the ingredients.

This experience, needless to say, is always the pits (you’d think I’d have learned by now). And, to add insult to injury, it’s not as if I have a corner store or a supermarket to which I can run for whatever random ingredient it is I am missing (as they’re usually random things that aren’t usually available at our Co Op anyway).

But, this morning, eager to create something tasty with the quinoa I’d bought in Québec City, I found myself with all of the ingredients to make quinoa tabbouleh from a recipe on the back of the package. Now, I’m 23 minutes away from gustatory awesomeness, and able to write about the awesome that is having all of the ingredients.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

*2 cups of cooked quinoa
*1 cup of chopped parsley
*1/2 cup of chopped green onions
*1 tsp of dried mint or 2 tbsp of fresh mint
*1 clove of garlic
*1/2 tsp of dried basil or 1 tbsp of fresh basil
*1/2 cup of lemon juice
*1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
*1/4 tsp of salt
*1/8 tsp of pepper

Mix everything together and chill for 1 hour or more to allow the flavours to blend.

picAyyXBtThis is not the same recipe, but, looks as awesome as mine smells, only it has tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

