Awesome # 183: The Beach, At Night

I’ve never been much of a beach person – despite the fact that I grew up a stone’s throw away from a handful of beaches along the Northumberland Straight. Family trips to the beach were a rare occasion when I was younger, and my memories of them generally revolve around mild heat stroke, ant infestations and sand in all the wrong places. I’d never much felt the need to go out of my way to spend a day at the beach only to endure these things.

However, the other day, a friend and I spent the evening at Parlee Beach. There, I discovered the awesome that is the beach, at night. The beach was practically empty – it was quiet, save for our conversation and the sound of the waves gently splashing along the sand. The breeze was just shy of cold (a definite welcome to this gal) and the bugs were, after awhile, practically nonexistent. It was nothing short of beautiful – everything the beach should be – and was so beautiful that we laid in the sand and savoured the beach well past closing.

Beautiful sunset imagine of Parlee Beach, found here.

Leave a Reply

